A New Age Begins: 2017 (and looking back)

Wow! That sure was some year, yeah? Despite popular* opinion I enjoyed 2016, my only gripe being that it was a whirlwind of a year for me. I’m looking to make a lot of improvements going into 2017, professionally, personally, and of course, for this blog. But most of all, as I do every year, I just want to say “Thank You” to this wonderful community! Read on for more…

*Featured image from Noble-6

2016 was a bit of an obstacle for me. I received a promotion at work (though that occurred at the end of 2015) and the new responsibilities that came along with it either cut into my time outside of work, or left me exhausted when I actually had said free time. That, unfortunately, affected my postings.

This past year I had to double up on a couple Hero of the Month articles, taking double the time to produce about half the content. And just as my art related posts began to regain some traction, I stumbled off the wagon and now it has been several months since I released my last one.

I don’t mean for this to be all doom and gloom, and in fact all of this has helped me look forward to 2017, instead of dreading it. Early in 2016 I was still trying to do two decks for each Hero of the Month. This schedule, in addition to those of my other articles, proved too taxing. I then moved to a one deck a month goal, with the occasional community deck spotlight when I had the free time (the last bit mostly inspired by the community rallying behind showcasing lesser known deckbuilders).

The same can be said for my artist spotlights, and you can expect to see one post a month focusing on one of the various illustrators that contribute to our game. While I intend for them all to be Q&A’s, some of the artists are hard to contact within a reasonable time and some of the posts may just be a simple spotlight and redirection to their other work as a result of that. I have been receiving consistently positive feedback that these artists need more attention, and that takes priority over whether or not they are available to interview.

Lastly, for improvements, are contests and my Filling Up the Corners column. Trying to test multiple decks each month, interviewing artists, and so forth, have made it more than difficult to focus Filling Up the Corners to just board games. Taking a queue from my Kubo article, that column, for the moment, will be more of the variety type and will be just my spilling thoughts about a recent book, game, movie, etc. It will still be in line with the original concept behind the column, but it will be opened up to a broader spectrum to get some of the weight off. In light of that, my yet-to-be-released Part 2 of my most recent post will be put on hold. I won’t wait until next Christmas to release it, but will wait for a more appropriate time. The monster grew a little too big for me too handle  – C’Est la Vie!

As for contests, I want to do more, but want to come up with newer ideas and unique prizes that aren’t just “here’s the newest product”. This is where I would love to hear from the community, what contests you have enjoyed (not just from myself but other members of the community), what prizes are interesting, and so forth. Custom cards are the most enjoyable for me (from a participant’s standpoint) but as I experienced with my most recent contest, not everyone submitted due to their inability to create a custom card on their own.

But enough about me! Here’s where I get sentimental and blabber on for a paragraph or so talking about the amazing people in this community. This year was big for the game, not only did we get a plethora of content (that also released somewhat consistently) but RingsDB and Discord took the community by storm and practically re-wrote how the community interacted. It’s given the power to the players and I look forward to see what such a robust group of players does for itself, despite what the developers bring to the table, especially considering that we may see the last Saga box this year, completing the story of the novels and leaving us all waiting with bated breath to see what will take its place. This all means that it’s simply a great time to be playing this game. Even without the above resources, this community has remained one of the best I’ve seen and I, for one, am glad to be a part of it in my own small way.

For those of you who have read my articles, gave me tips, submitted contest entries, and more, I thank you, very much! Like most who play this game and produces some form of content, I do this for practically free and have even spent some extra dough for prizes and such. Obviously, this means, I am not in it for the money and so it’s getting to interact with all of these wonderful people that helps keep me motivated. Again, Thank You.

And that’s about it! I won’t belabor the point too much… I have other things to write! Let me know below what you would like to see moving forward this year. What has worked, what hasn’t, and whatever else you may suggest.

And… as always. Thanks for reading!

-The Secondhand Took

 

5 thoughts on “A New Age Begins: 2017 (and looking back)

  1. gandalfDK

    Nice write-up, Secondhand. I would advise you to take things as they go and not worry too much about us not getting any articles. After all, you are doing this for your enjoyment as well. You are doing some unique stuff, not only for the community(us), but giving these artists another place to promote themselves is wonderful as well.
    I thank you and I prefer quality above quantity. 😉

    Have a wonderful 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy New Year 2HT! As a fellow blogger who regularly falls short of my ambitious writing goals, I appreciate your sentiments here. Don’t worry about the publishing progress too much, just keep committing yourself to the quest. There’s no Time X keyword on this scenario and we enjoy what you post whenever we can get it. Many thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

