The Princes Are Coming!

Good Evening Everyone! I do apologize for my brief hiatus. But here I am with a near photo finish release before March is finally over. So let’s not waste any more time and get into the deck, shall we?

I received my first core set for LOTR: LCG as a Christmas gift right before Voice of Isengard was released. Because of this the first Hero I found interesting outside of some select Core Set ones was Eomer, Third Marshal of the Riddermark and eventual King of Rohan. His ability synergized well with allies leaving play, ultimately providing a boost to his attack as a result. Though I was new to the game it was a strategy that I could get behind (and in most other card games I play I do enjoy combat interactions). So when I started picking up the other Deluxe Expansions and APs in some sensible order I eventually came upon Prince Imrahil, a Hero that I found quite fascinating. I immediately saw the interaction between the two noble Heroes as one that I could tinker with and not get myself too overwhelmed with the card pool before me and other complex strategies. Though I can’t recall too much how the deck I build handled, I do remember enjoying it immensely. Here I am, back with Prince Imrahil and a little more experience under my belt and a deck I’m interested to try out.

Titled The Princes are Coming, this deck focuses on two things. The first is buffing our two noble Heroes, Eomer and Prince Imrahil. The second is to create a great army of powerful Eagle allies to lay further waste to our enemies. Merry, who I’d like to think of as a “noble” as well, comes in to provide valuable red resources in this tactics heavy deck. Other Heroes, such as Mablung, may also be worth including but I enjoy having the lower threat and I think Merry’s readying ability can assist either Hero quite well.

How do we beef up our Heroes? There are a whopping 22 attachments included in the deck that can give us a variety of options. The main idea would be to set Imrahil up as the defender, and Eomer the attacker (with Merry to provide a readying ability when needed). For Imrahil we have 3 copies of Gondorian Shield, 2 copies of Dunedain Signal, Heir of Mardil, and 3 copies of Steward of Gondor. Combined this should provide Imrahil with more than enough to keep most enemies at bay. For Eomer, our primary attacker, we have 3 copies of Firefoot, Rohan Warhorse, and 2 copies of Support of the Eagles. Though not an attachment Merry can also be included in this list as he is meant to be yet another readying effect for Eomer on top of the Warhorse (which can also be attached to Merry).

With our 20 allies we are aiming to do 3 things: Get some powerful Eagles, trigger Eomer and Imrahil, and make our deck run smoothly either by grabbing cards or smoothing out or resources. The latter is minor but still very necessary. To make this possible we have 2 copies of Galadriel and 3 copies of Squire of the Citadel. I elected to take the Squire over Errand Rider due to the FAQ about gaining resources. The Squire still gives us a resource when we need it and can be attached to Eomer (if he has Steward) or Imrahil which is very usefull. He transitions nicely into our next priority, getting allies off the table to trigger our Heroes’ abilities. Westfold Outrider, Vassal of the Windlord, Winged Guardian, and in a sense Galadriel will all trigger the leave play abilities in the deck often. The aforementioned Eagle allies, along with Descendent of Thorondor, Gwaihir, and Eagles of the Misty Mountains create an impressive gathering of mighty allies that fill a variety of roles from Defender, Attacker, and Direct Damager.

What this deck is short on is events, though the ones included will certainly help us get to where we want to be. Sneak attack helps allies leave play and works very well with Descendent of Thorondor. Tighten our Belts not only provides resource smoothing early game but can provide a readying effect in the late game if Heir of Mardil is out. A Very Good Tale ensures that we get our allies out if we find ourselves in short supply and maybe a little abundant in attachments. It also relieves our Heroes’ resources to be used on said attachments. Lastly, I found myself at 49 cards more often than not and so included a single copy of the Eagles are Coming to, again, make sure we get the Eagle Allies we need.

As with many of the decks I post, I have yet to put this one to practice. My chief concern is that the deck is being pulled into too many directions having equal parts allies and attachments. Some cards I think can still be cut to make room for other copies of more key cards, but that will come with testing. Regardless, I can’t wait to give this deck a try.

Please let me know what you think and I’ll be posting one more deck on Imrahil before I move on to April’s Hero!

 -The Secondhand Took

Deck:The Princes Are Coming

Total Cards: (50)

Hero: (3)
1x Prince Imrahil (A Journey to Rhosgobel)
1x Éomer (The Voice of Isengard)
1x Merry (The Black Riders)

Ally: (20)
2x Descendant of Thorondor (The Hills of Emyn Muil)
3x Eagles of the Misty Mountains (Return to Mirkwood)
3x Vassal of the Windlord (The Dead Marshes)
3x Westfold Outrider (The Voice of Isengard)
3x Winged Guardian (The Hunt for Gollum)
2x Galadriel (The Road Darkens)
3x Squire of the Citadel (The Blood of Gondor)
1x Gwaihir (Trouble in Tharbad)

Attachment: (22)
3x Gondorian Fire (Assault on Osgiliath)
2x Firefoot (The Dunland Trap)
3x Gondorian Shield (The Steward’s Fear)
2x Horn of Gondor (Core Set)
3x Rohan Warhorse (The Voice of Isengard)
2x Support of the Eagles (Return to Mirkwood)
2x Dunedain Signal (Return to Mirkwood)
2x Heir of Mardil (Celebrimbor’s Secret)
3x Steward of Gondor (Core Set)

Event: (8)
1x The Eagles Are Coming! (The Hunt for Gollum)
2x A Very Good Tale (Over Hill and Under Hill)
3x Sneak Attack (Core Set)
2x Tighten Our Belts (The Nin-in-Eilph)

One thought on “The Princes Are Coming!

Leave a Reply

