Sam and The Bear

Good Evening All.

It’s still been a busy time for me. The Holidays, though they were great, always take their fair share of free time and that I used my apartment to host Christmas Day didn’t help either. Regardless, I found my time in the evenings this particular week to be a little less busy and so it is with some improvisation and the desire to post at least one more deck about Sam Gamgee that I give you this strange little creation: Sam and The Bear.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The title pretty much says it all. The deck is a two hero deck consisting of Beorn and Sam Gamgee with a heavy focus on dumping allies onto the table. Notable allies include Boromir, Gwaihir, Gildor, and Faramir, though there are a host of other allies as well. For the moment, and because I was sadly being hasty, there is a smattering of different allies in this list and I believe that given further looks, I’d probably trim some off and include additional copies of the more important allies that would keep the deck consistent.

 

 

 

 

 

That being said it was a fun deck to mess around with, and I will try my hand at testing it out sometime this week or over the weekend should I get the chance. The card that really got the wheels turning (aside from Sam Gamgee) was Timely Aid.

Ever since I saw this card I thought how exciting it would be to play it first turn, flip over five cards, and see what happens. Of course this is quite a gamble so I’ve added other alternatives to getting allies on the table a la Steward of Gondor, A Very Good Taleand Sneak Attack. With all of these cards it is still a possibility that allies may not show their faces at all. With that in mind I decided to include some cards that would make Sam a worthy adversary and partner of the great Beorn. To accomplish this I’ve added cards such as The Dagger of WesternesseHobbit CloakCram, and Halfling Determination.

Lastly I added one other card to assist the deck with Questing and Attacking/Defending in the form of Gandalf 2.0. Since our deck starts out with a low threat of 20 it has the wiggle room to raise it’s threat a little bit here and there for everyone’s favorite Istari to get some willpower out there as well as taking on an enemy or two. It the threat proves to be too much then Gandalf can be kicked to the curb, hopefully by the time more powerful allies hit the board.

Is this a good deck? I have a strange feeling that it’s not, especially since this was made up so randomly and hastily. But, I would like to see it improved and if this hero combination is even worth it. As I said though it was a fun deck to create and I’d love to see if anyone wants to give this a spin or lend an opinion or two as to how it would fare as is or how it can be improved.

Anyway, just a little something I wanted to put up so I could stay true to my goals and get this blog back up and running. Hope you all enjoyed the quick read.

If I don’t post anything until the New Year I hope you all enjoy the rest of your Holidays and bring in the New Year strong!

The Secondhand Took

Deck: Sam and The Bear

Total Cards: (50)

Hero: (2)
1x Sam Gamgee (The Black Riders)
1x Beorn (Over Hill and Under Hill)

Ally: (20)
3x Defender of Rammas (Heirs of Numenor)
1x Erestor (The Long Dark)
1x Faramir (Core Set)
3x Gandalf (Over Hill and Under Hill)
1x Landroval (A Journey to Rhosgobel)
1x Gwaihir (Trouble in Tharbad)
2x Bofur (Over Hill and Under Hill)
2x Boromir (The Road Darkens)
1x Gildor Inglorion (The Hills of Emyn Muil)
1x Wandering Ent (Celebrimbor’s Secret)
1x Descendant of Thorondor (The Hills of Emyn Muil)
3x Gondorian Spearman (Core Set)

Attachment: (12)
3x Dagger of Westernesse (The Black Riders)
3x Gondorian Shield (The Steward’s Fear)
3x Steward of Gondor (Core Set)
3x Hobbit Cloak (The Black Riders)

Event: (18)
3x Timely Aid (The Redhorn Gate)
3x A Very Good Tale (Over Hill and Under Hill)
3x Feint (Core Set)
3x Halfling Determination (The Black Riders)
3x Hidden Cache (The Morgul Vale)
3x Sneak Attack (Core Set)

3 thoughts on “Sam and The Bear

  1. Pingback: Hero of the Month – Samwise Gamgee | The Second Hand Took

  2. Pingback: Hero of the Month: Beorn | The Second Hand Took

Leave a Reply

