The Ring Goes South (A Quick Post)

Whoa! What a quest. A few weeks ago, when I was at a best friend’s house, we decided to try out the new expansion and of course, the quest: The Ring Goes South.

Naturally, we knew it would be challenging. But despite our best efforts I can’t help but think he and I, especially being huge fans, saw our quest going just like the books/movies.

“Absolutely NOTHING could go wrong..”

And naturally… it went horribly wrong. Sure it felt epic, and a little LOTR music in the background helped set the mood, but needless to say we weren’t ready (partially due to some iffy decks I came up with). Our first attempt had us location locked/Getting lost and ultimately buried in the snows of Caradhras as we found our comrades falling around us. Our second attempt had us crawling like beggars towards the Doors of Durin only to be squashed like the tiniest of bugs by the Watcher in the Water. I’ll admit, though I enjoyed it, I was a teeny bit upset.

But I persevered! I re-built some decks and now… a few weeks later, decided to give the quest another go. There was no friend this time tonight, so I played with two decks. I’ll put a post up later with the quest and the decks but here are the two sets of heroes:

Deck 1:

Samwise, Pippin (lore), Merry

Deck 2:

Eowyn, Frodo, Boromir

I was so torn on using Eowyn, being ever SO CLOSE on a thematic hero roster. But I swallowed my nerdiness and gave it a go!

The result: I had a blast! I was still battered and bruised, and I may have lost a member of the fellowship or two, but I entered the Doors of Durin at the last possible moment, with my threat one turn away from maxing out and my enemies being mere inches away from tearing me apart. Not only was the photo finish nature of the quest enjoyable, but to have the tension match the desperate escape into the Doors of Durin from the story was a nice touch and I can’t wait to try it again and see how I fair next time.

To try and be thorough I took photos of the quest and my progress throughout. I have a couple ideas on how to present it but don’t have any time as of right now. I’ll try and get a post up by the end of the week.

Good Night!

-The Secondhand Took

Leave a Reply

